Accessing Spring.NET From Global.asax.cs

Yesterday, I was working on a web application in which I wanted to use the EntityTranslatorService and EntityTranslator classes as can be found in the Smart Client Software Factory, simply because I like the concept behind these mappers.  My application also needs to be testable.  I am using Spring.NET’s Inversion Of Control + Dependency Injection mechanism.

I wanted the EntityTranslatorService to be a singleton, so I would only have to register the EntityTranslators once.  I figured it should be possible to create a ConfigurationService class, with a RegisterTranslators method that would allow me to access the singleton instance of the EntityTranslatorService in order to register the different translators I would be using.  And what better place to do this than the Application_Start EventHandler in the Global.asax.cs file of my web application?  That way, the entity translators would only have to be set up once.  I added the following piece of code to the Application_Start EventHandler:

IConfigurationService configurationService =
     SpringContextRegistry.Context.Resolve<IConfigurationService>();
configurationService.RegisterEntityTranslators();

(SpringContextRegistry.Context.Resolve is just a helper method I created to be able to resolve objects based on the string representation of their type.) 

Wrong!

As soon as I tried to run my application, I was presented with the following error message:

“WebSupportModule not initialized. Did you forget to add <add name=”Spring” type=”Spring.Context.Support.WebSupportModule, Spring.Web”/> to your web.config’s <httpModules>-section?”

Whoops…  I should have realized that the application would not have been fully initialized by the time I made my Spring.NET call…  The Spring.NET WebSupportModule wasn’t available yet.

It didn’t take me long to find the solution to the problem, though.  I just needed to move my code and put it in the Init() method:

public override void Application_Init()
{
     base.Init();
     IConfigurationService configurationService =
          SpringContextRegistry.Context.Resolve<IConfigurationService>();
     configurationService.RegisterEntityTranslators();
}

If you found this post helpful, please click below to “Kick” it:

kick it on DotNetKicks.com

One Response to “Accessing Spring.NET From Global.asax.cs”

  1. las Says:

    Perfect! Just we were looking for. We need to make sure that when the session ended certain events were published using Application.PublishEvent(…) from Spring.Net to clean up cached information and other session related stuff.

    Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

