SQL Server Reporting Services Database Version

Yesterday, I installed SQL Server Reporting Services on an existing instance of SQL Server 2005, Service Pack 2.  I then started Reporting Services configuration with the Reporting Services Configuration Tool.  On the Database Setup tab, I selected the machine, and tried to add a new database using the New… dialog.  At first, it looked like everything was going to be okay, because I noticed that the two Reporting Services database had been created in SQL Server.  However, I also noticed a warning notice at the bottom of the Database Setup tab.

I then tried to apply my changes, and was asked to upgrade my database.  I was a little surprised by that question because I had not seen it when installing Reporting Services before.  I have to mention though, that on previous occasions, I had installed SQL Server 2005 and Reporting Services in one go, and that this was the first time I was adding Reporting Services to an existing SQL Server 2005 instance.

Anyway, to make a long story short…  I was presented with the following error messages:

“The database version (C.0.8.40) does not match your reporting services installation. You must upgrade your reporting services database.”

“Couldn’t generate the upgrade script. There is no upgrade script available for this version.”

At first, I had no idea what was going on.  After searching the web for some answers, I was able to conclude that the problem was caused by the fact that I had done the following:

  1. Install SQL Server 2005
  2. Install SQL Server 2005 when it became available
  3. Install SQL Server Reporting Services 2005 using the same setup I used for the initial install of SQL Server 2005

In other words: I had installed the non-Service Pack 2 version of SQL Server Reporting Services 2005 on a SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 instance.  The solution to the problem: re-install Service Pack 2!

If you found this post helpful, please click below to “Kick” it:

kick it on DotNetKicks.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

